Justice for the People PAC is a Permanent Committee in accordance with Kentucky law. It began as one of eight working committees of The Coalition for the People’s Agenda, which was originally formed in 2002 by Anne Braden and other members of the Kentucky Alliance Against Racist and Political Repression.

In 2019, there was a revival of the Coalition for the People’s Agenda, led by De’Nita Wright, at which time a 9th committee was added. In 2020, as the pandemic was looming and the police murders of George Floyd and Breonna Taylor were witnessed in real time, the Education Committee and Legislative Committee resumed weekly meetings on Zoom and elected new leaders.

Archives of their meetings can be found here:

Education and Youth Empowerment (Chair Gay Adelmann)

Legislative (Chair Tyra Walker, Co-Chair KA Owens)

By partnering with Kentuckians for Real Options, and with Dear JCPS, LLC (a 501(c)4) as their lead organization, The Coalition for the People’s Agenda Education Committee was able to participate in local, state and national campaigns and actions in 2018, 2019, 2020 and 2021. They’ve even supported candidates for teachers unions and parent organizations.

In 2022, Dear JCPS filed their own Permanent Committee with the state of Kentucky’s Registry of Finance department to continue to support inclusive, bi-partisan, anti-racist, pro-LGBTQIA candidates and issues, starting with the 2022 elections. Our 13-member decision-making council is currently reviewing 2023 and 2024 candidates and organizing an occasional peaceful “action” to raise awareness of injustices being perpetrated by predators in the various camps.